[tds_menu_login inline="yes" guest_tdicon="td-icon-profile" logout_tdicon="td-icon-log-out" tdc_css="eyJwaG9uZSI6eyJtYXJnaW4tcmlnaHQiOiIyMCIsIm1hcmdpbi1ib3R0b20iOiIwIiwibWFyZ2luLWxlZnQiOiI2IiwiZGlzcGxheSI6IiJ9LCJwaG9uZV9tYXhfd2lkdGgiOjc2N30=" toggle_hide="eyJwaG9uZSI6InllcyJ9" ia_space="eyJwaG9uZSI6IjAifQ==" icon_size="eyJhbGwiOjI0LCJwaG9uZSI6IjIwIn0=" avatar_size="eyJwaG9uZSI6IjIwIn0=" show_menu="yes" menu_offset_top="eyJwaG9uZSI6IjE4In0=" menu_offset_horiz="eyJhbGwiOjgsInBob25lIjoiLTMifQ==" menu_width="eyJwaG9uZSI6IjE4MCJ9" menu_horiz_align="eyJhbGwiOiJjb250ZW50LWhvcml6LWxlZnQiLCJwaG9uZSI6ImNvbnRlbnQtaG9yaXotcmlnaHQifQ==" menu_uh_padd="eyJwaG9uZSI6IjEwcHggMTVweCA4cHgifQ==" menu_gh_padd="eyJwaG9uZSI6IjEwcHggMTVweCA4cHgifQ==" menu_ul_padd="eyJwaG9uZSI6IjhweCAxNXB4In0=" menu_ul_space="eyJwaG9uZSI6IjYifQ==" menu_ulo_padd="eyJwaG9uZSI6IjhweCAxNXB4IDEwcHgifQ==" menu_gc_padd="eyJwaG9uZSI6IjhweCAxNXB4IDEwcHgifQ==" menu_bg="var(--news-hub-black)" menu_shadow_shadow_size="eyJwaG9uZSI6IjAifQ==" menu_arrow_color="rgba(0,0,0,0)" menu_uh_color="var(--news-hub-light-grey)" menu_uh_border_color="var(--news-hub-dark-grey)" menu_ul_link_color="var(--news-hub-white)" menu_ul_link_color_h="var(--news-hub-accent-hover)" menu_ul_sep_color="var(--news-hub-dark-grey)" menu_uf_txt_color="var(--news-hub-white)" menu_uf_txt_color_h="var(--news-hub-accent-hover)" menu_uf_border_color="var(--news-hub-dark-grey)" f_uh_font_size="eyJwaG9uZSI6IjEyIn0=" f_uh_font_line_height="eyJwaG9uZSI6IjEuMyJ9" f_uh_font_family="eyJwaG9uZSI6IjMyNSJ9" f_links_font_size="eyJwaG9uZSI6IjEyIn0=" f_links_font_line_height="eyJwaG9uZSI6IjEuMyJ9" f_links_font_family="eyJwaG9uZSI6IjMyNSJ9" f_uf_font_size="eyJwaG9uZSI6IjEyIn0=" f_uf_font_line_height="eyJwaG9uZSI6IjEuMyJ9" f_uf_font_family="eyJwaG9uZSI6IjMyNSJ9" f_gh_font_family="eyJwaG9uZSI6IjMyNSJ9" f_gh_font_size="eyJwaG9uZSI6IjEyIn0=" f_gh_font_line_height="eyJwaG9uZSI6IjEuMyJ9" f_btn1_font_family="eyJwaG9uZSI6IjMyNSJ9" f_btn1_font_weight="eyJwaG9uZSI6IjcwMCJ9" f_btn1_font_transform="eyJwaG9uZSI6InVwcGVyY2FzZSJ9" f_btn2_font_weight="eyJwaG9uZSI6IjcwMCJ9" f_btn2_font_transform="eyJwaG9uZSI6InVwcGVyY2FzZSJ9" f_btn2_font_family="eyJwaG9uZSI6IjMyNSJ9"]
23 C
New York

Joe Pickett Books in Order: Exploring the Thrilling Series


Dive into the World of C.J. Box’s Iconic Character

In the realm of modern literature, few characters have captured readers’ hearts and minds like Joe Pickett. Created by the talented author C.J. Box, Joe Pickett is a beloved protagonist in a series of gripping novels. If you’re eager to embark on this literary journey or want to ensure you’re reading the books in the correct order, you’ve come to the right place. In this article, we’ll provide you with a comprehensive guide to Joe Pickett books in order, so you can fully immerse yourself in the thrilling adventures of this Wyoming game warden.

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. The Origins of Joe Pickett
  3. The Debut Novel: Open Season
  4. The Joe Pickett Series Chronology
    • 4.1. The Early Novels
    • 4.2. The Middle Novels
    • 4.3. The Recent Novels
  5. Exploring Joe Pickett’s World
  6. Why Joe Pickett Books Are a Must-Read
  7. Reading Order for Maximum Enjoyment
  8. Conclusion


Joe Pickett is not your typical fictional hero. He’s a dedicated game warden in the vast and rugged landscapes of Wyoming. Author C.J. Box skillfully weaves tales of suspense, adventure, and conservation around this captivating character.

The Origins of Joe Pickett

C.J. Box introduced readers to Joe Pickett in the novel “Open Season,” which was published in 2001. From that point forward, Joe’s character took on a life of its own, captivating readers with his moral compass, love for his family, and unyielding dedication to protecting nature.

The Debut Novel: Open Season

“Open Season” marked the beginning of Joe Pickett’s journey. In this novel, readers are introduced to Joe’s world, his family, and his first experiences as a game warden. It’s the perfect starting point for anyone new to the series.

The Joe Pickett Series Chronology

To fully enjoy Joe Pickett’s evolution and the overarching storylines, it’s crucial to read the books in order. The series can be divided into three distinct phases:

The Early Novels

  1. “Open Season” (2001)
  2. “Savage Run” (2002)
  3. “Winterkill” (2003)
  4. “Trophy Hunt” (2004)
  5. “Out of Range” (2005)

The Middle Novels

  1. “In Plain Sight” (2006)
  2. “Free Fire” (2007)
  3. “Blood Trail” (2008)
  4. “Below Zero” (2009)
  5. “Nowhere to Run” (2010)

The Recent Novels

  1. “Cold Wind” (2011)
  2. “Force of Nature” (2012)
  3. “Breaking Point” (2013)
  4. “Stone Cold” (2014)
  5. “Endangered” (2015)

Exploring Joe Pickett’s World

C.J. Box’s storytelling prowess lies in his ability to transport readers to the stunning landscapes of Wyoming. Through vivid descriptions and authentic character development, he brings the world of Joe Pickett to life.

Why Joe Pickett Books Are a Must-Read

The Joe Pickett series offers readers a unique blend of mystery, adventure, and environmental consciousness. Each novel tackles contemporary issues while keeping you on the edge of your seat with its suspenseful plot twists.

Reading Order for Maximum Enjoyment

To fully appreciate Joe Pickett’s character development and the intricate web of stories, it’s recommended to read the books in the order of publication. This will allow you to witness Joe’s journey, both as a game warden and as a man, unfold organically.


In the world of literary heroes, Joe Pickett stands tall as a character who resonates with readers on a profound level. Whether you’re an avid fan or a newcomer, immersing yourself in the Joe Pickett series is a literary adventure you won’t want to miss.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

  1. Are Joe Pickett books suitable for all ages?
    • The Joe Pickett series is generally intended for adult readers due to its mature themes and content.
  2. Is there a TV adaptation of the Joe Pickett series?
    • Yes, there is a TV adaptation in development, bringing Joe Pickett’s adventures to the screen.
  3. How often does C.J. Box release a new Joe Pickett novel?
    • C.J. Box typically releases a new Joe Pickett novel once a year.
  4. Can I start reading the series from any book, or is there a recommended starting point?
    • While you can start from any book, it’s best to begin with “Open Season” to fully appreciate Joe Pickett’s character development.
  5. Is Joe Pickett based on a real person or inspired by real events?
    • Joe Pickett is a fictional character, but C.J. Box draws inspiration from real-life conservation issues in his novels.

Related articles

Recent articles